The Park In Vienna

The best blog you'll ever read about being an intern

chapter 1: it’s not over til the fat lady sings June 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — acerook @ 3:23 pm

I started looking for an internship at the end of the fall semester in 2008.  Lesson # 1: this was almost too late.  I missed out on the incredibly prestigious Washington Post summer internship because they have a November/December deadline.  But the majority of internships I liked had deadlines around February/March, which gave me plenty of time to get my application together.

I picked four internships: USA Today, Washingtonian Magazine, Wolf Trap and The Connection, a local newspaper.  Washingtonian, I found out, canceled their photography internship.  USA Today didn’t want to set up an interview until AFTER I had accepted my current internship.   The Connection didn’t want me to APPLY until April, which would be a little too late for my comfort since I needed this class to graduate by Summer 2009.  So that left Wolf Trap.

Let me say, I will never place all my bets on one job again.  It was nerve-wracking, but there was really nothing I could do.  Photography internships are few and far between, unfortunately.  I could have applied for journalism internships, but I really wanted to pursue what made me happy, not what I “should” do.  Not that I don’t love journalism.  But after the past semester, I needed a break from writing.

Wolf Trap, however, would have been my top pick anyway.  Its job description included photographing theater and musical acts, which is what I enjoy the most.  Plus, I used to go to Wolf Trap when I was a little kid, and I go about once a year, since they generally book artists I enjoy (Ben Folds!  Patty Griffin!).

After several nail-biting months, I got the call telling me they wanted to set up a phone interview.  Yipes!  Phone interviews are rough because face-to-face contact is always preferable.  But it went pretty well, I suppose, since about two weeks later, they offered me the job.  One small step for mankind, one giant step for me!

So lesson learned- plan early, earlier than you might think.  But even when you think this are a mess (pinning my summer graduation on just one internship was NOT exciting), things always seem to work out.

 

Leave a Reply

