The Park In Vienna

The best blog you'll ever read about being an intern

chapter 2: one of the sexier internships June 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — acerook @ 4:55 am

Graham, the PR man for Wolf Trap, described my internship as “sexy” the other day.  A little awkward for the work place, but I can’t help but agree.

For anyone who is curious as to what it’s like to be a photographer, let me offer you this glimpse into the artist’s world as experienced through my internship at Wolf Trap.

First perk of being an artist, my office hours are limited.  While other interns work 9-5 Monday through Friday, I only come into the office on Mondays and Wednesdays from 10-4.  Tuesdays and Thursdays are dark (i.e., I’m off) unless I have to shoot.  Friday, I either work office hours 11:30-4:30 or if I’m shooting, 4:30 til I head over to the park around 6:30 to check in at Stage Door and the press office.

The whole sleeping in thing rocks, I will not lie.

Second perk, I get to be “special.”  I’m one of the few Wolf Trap photogs, so I get a special pass, I get to go to Stage Door (where all the tour managers and acts check in), I get to watch shows for free.  Granted, when I’m photographing it’s a whole ‘nother matter because when behind a camera, you’re not really SEEING the show– but that’s another matter for another entry.  

Third perk, I occasionally get to meet bands, as seen in my run-in with the drummer from DeVotchKa – who asked where he’d be able to see my pictures.  :O

But that’s not to say this job is cake.  On the contrary – what I don’t do in office hours I make up for in shooting.  Plus, I’m not guaranteed a regular schedule like other interns, mine changes almost every week.  And some times, I do office hours AND shoot at night -for instance, tomorrow I’m in at 1 and stay until the show that night, so I won’t get to go home til around 10pm.  Also, what other job do you have where you roughly have fifteen minutes to do all of your best work?  That’s all the time I generally get to photograph each act.  Talk about stress.

But despite all those cons, to me, the pros seriously triumph – if for no other fact than I get paid to do what I love.

And the sleeping in doesn’t hurt, either.

 

Leave a Reply

