The Park In Vienna

The best blog you'll ever read about being an intern

chapter seven: the perks August 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — acerook @ 3:52 pm

This internship has been extremely fabulous in the perks of the job.  I imagine most other internships you put in 40 hours a week and all you see is a credit on your resume.  Not so, here at Wolf Trap!  They’re very careful to give us exciting, fun opportunities as a reward for all of our hard work.

Here are a few of the coolest benefits of being a WT intern:

**We get complimentary lawn tickets to about 80% of the season’s shows.  Getting to see fantastic shows for free makes it all the more enticing to try brand new genres that you might not normally want to spend money on.  For instance, I’m not a huge dance person, but since we had comp tickets for Riverdance, I was more than willing to give it a go.  And when it’s a show you’re actually excited to see (like, ahem, Matt Nathanson) it makes it that much more exciting.

Also, when it rains (which it has done a LOT this season), if there’s room under the pavilion, they’re generally willing to upgrade our tickets so we don’t get soaked.

**Picnics!  Our second or so week, they had a staff barbeque that let us get out of the office for an hour or so and let us enjoy a seriously tasty meal free of charge.  Any time we don’t have to expend money is always a good time.  I think we’ve had three picnics/parties so far, and today we’re actually having one final picnic for the department interns… and Friday it’s an ice cream social for all of the interns!

**Access to industry-standard software.  I’m lucky to have not only a Mac to do all my photo editing on, but down the hallway is another Mac which has Final Cut Pro on it.  I used that yesterday to make my slideshow of season highlights – and let me tell you, it was so much better than having to use iPhoto.

And two other perks that are unique to being the photo intern…

**I get to go backstage every once in a blue moon and see how that side of things operates.  It’s pretty rare since they’re VERY particular about who is there, but a few weeks ago I shadowed one of the production interns and photographed her going about her duties.  It was really neat – not only did I get some awesome pictures, I also got to meet Chris Isaak!

**If I’m working, I often don’t have to worry about getting tickets for shows, and once I’m done shooting, I get to find a spot and sit and watch the remainder of the show if I so choose!  Granted, I don’t do this too often because I’m usually pretty exhausted by the end of the evening, but I have gotten to see The Donnas, Blondie and the Wizard of Oz (as accompanied by the National Symphony Orchestra) via this method.

Well, time for me to go the yummiest perk… time for a picnic!

 

Leave a Reply

